Fall-ing into a Detox diet.

Fall is here. UGH, I know. Over the next few months we will be hosting Thanksgiving and Christmas cookies- impossible-to-say-no-to holiday foods. Sometimes our bodies need a cleanse or “detox” from the chemicals and toxins we put in on a daily basis. After a few months of too much beer, wine and lake water I am going to start a week long detox tomorrow. I hope to make it Monday-Friday eating nothing but fruits, vegetables and vitamins.

Detox diets are definitely easy to confuse however, and usually require a little research if you are going with one you found online. For instance, a few years ago I read about a 3-5 day detox diet in which breakfast, lunch, dinner and any snacks in between consisted of water with fresh squeezed lemon juice. Immediately I recognized that my body wouldn’t receive any of the nutrients it needed meaning I wouldn’t get through my workouts or dance classes very easily. I did decide to google the benefits of lemon water though and what I found was surprising. Lemon water is known to boost the immune system, aid in digestion, cleanse your system and reduce inflammation to name a few. (Thank you- lifehack.org)  That wasn’t enough to convince me five glasses of lemon water a day for five days was healthy, though. Back to the drawing board for more research and I came up with my own detox diet.

1. Eat clean and eliminate the bad stuff. With the foods we ingest daily, whatever they may be we also ingest hormones, chemicals and toxins. Eating raw foods gives our body the opportunity to get rid of the toxins and replenish with nutrients. Aside from feeling healthier and more energetic it usually has great results with my skin as well! Bonus! For the next week my meals will consist of smoothies and snacks of nuts. Almonds are my favorites. I would say google some green smoothies in order to find the ones with your favorite fruits and veggies! My favorite is as follows-

1/2 cup of frozen strawberries

1/4 cup rasberries

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1/4 cup from chopped spinach

1/4 cup of kale

1 whole banana

1/2 cup of almond milk

1 tsp of flaxseed

2. Workout. This workout could be anything from a brisk walk to a Zumba class. Maybe hot yoga is more your style or some low-key weight lifting. Anything. JUST SWEAT. Sweating along with eating clean will help your body release toxins and refresh from the inside out.

3. Sleep. Sleeping has crazy unpredictable benefits on a healthy body. It’s also something I have never really been very good at. The Huffington Post suggest sleep can benefit your heart, weight and mind.

4. Skin Cleanse. Your skin is the largest organ in the body believe it or not, and is in need of some TLC every now and then as well. I like to use either a sugar or sea salt scrub to rid my skin of dead cells and toxins that may be released by sweating at that gym session! 😉 The scrub should be prior to a shower so the cooties can be washed off and and carried down the drain.

5. Lots and lots of water. This one is pretty self explanatory. Instead of starting my morning with coffee I begin with a tall glass of ice cold water and the lemon juice of half of a lemon.

While a detox diet is difficult at times it is never one that leaves me feeling hungry. The smoothies are large and have enough fruit and veggies to count as a meal. Remember: a detox diet isn’t to lose weight but to keep the body happy and healthy!

XOXO

5 comments

Leave a Reply

